Vacation in Mexico

Standard

Just got back from an awesome vacation down in Puerto Penasco (Rocky Point) Mexico.  This is the third time I’ve been down there with Sal, and as always, it was just gorgeous.  His friend has a house right on the beach and has been kind enough to let us use it each year.  February seems to be the perfect time to go too.  The weather was perfect: highs around 80, lows around 60, and a nice light breeze during the day.  Plus we were there for the full moon, which was just beyond amazing!

It takes me about a week to prep all the food and everything, but it’s worth the effort.  We hit town on the way in and then never have to leave the beach house the rest of the time we’re there.  We pick up a few things (mainly fresh seafood), then head to the house and settle in.

Here’s a shot of Calcifer trying to make me feel guilty about leaving him and Ginko.  Once he sees the bags packed and ready to go at the door he knows we’ll be leaving for at least a few days.  I DO feel guilty about leaving the cats, and I miss them terribly, but they do just fine on their own for a few days.  I always make sure to leave more than enough food and water.  And within a few hours of us returning home the cats are back to their normal routine, as if we’d never left (although Calcifer especially remains extra cuddly for at least a few days).

Mexico 2-16 packing Calcifer Ziggi’s been to Mexico several times, but this was Dewey Dude’s first time down there.

 

I think he was impressed with the beach and the ocean 😉  I love having the dogs down there- it’s like they multiply our own joy.  They raced around on the beach and Dewey Dude made friends with every dog and person he saw.

Mexico 2-16 zig and dewey

Since he hadn’t had a lot of interaction with other dogs (besides Ziggi) I was a little concerned about his social skills, but I shouldn’t have worried.  The Kid is such a sweet and affection creature that every dog he met was happy to play with him, and nearly every person loved him too.  He met an old arthritic dog named Poncho and somehow knew that he wasn’t feeling good.  So The Dude lay next to old Poncho and gently kissed his face ❤  How sweet is that?!  The young Doberman a few houses down was a great playmate though, and I think Dewey fell in love with her ❤

Mexico 2-16 tired dewey

And after a long day of playing The Kid is completely tuckered out 😉  Oh, and another thing that Dewey did that really showed his caring nature- he buried several dead sea birds that had washed up on the beach.  He didn’t try to carry them off or chew on them (we had to yell at Ziggi for that a few times), but every time Dewey came across a freshly dead bird he used his nose to cover it with sand, and he wouldn’t leave until it was properly covered.  After the first few I started helping him bury them so he would feel better and wouldn’t have to spend all day burying birds.  I’m still not sure why there were so many dead birds washing up on the shore 😦

Mexico 2-16 me and zig

Ziggi likes being on vacation because that’s one time when he’s actually allowed on the furniture 😉

Mexico 2-16 ziggi 2

Mexico 2-16 dewey dude in chair

And of course The Kid had to take advantage of the suspended “no dogs on the furniture” rule too!

Naturally I got plenty of sun, sand, and surf myself 😉

Mexico 2-16 me 2

Just walking through that sand every day, all day was an excellent leg toner!

And then there are those gorgeous sunsets!

Mexico 2-16 sunset ziggi

I just couldn’t have asked for a more perfect vacation!  And the timing for us was excellent: Sal had a lull in work, I hadn’t started planting the garden yet (although I’ll be starting seeds now that I’m home again), and the temps here at home were warm enough for me to leave the greenhouse open at night, but not so hot during the day that everything in there dried out.  It was a refreshing little pause before the busy garden season starts again.  And of course Sal’s got plenty of yard work waiting for him too 😉  I think we’ve got the timing figured out pretty well now, so hopefully we’ll be able to do this again at the same time next year.  Last year we went in mid-June, and although it happened to be cooler than usual down there it was still pretty hot and VERY humid.  The neighbors said that October through April (at the latest) was really the best time to be down there.  They also said to avoid Spring Break, because that’s when things got rowdy 😉  I prefer a nice quiet, relaxing vacation myself!

Stay tuned to see what I get into next!

~Michelle of CreativeCritters
2 thoughts on “Vacation in Mexico

  1. Thanks! I wish I could have gotten one of the full moon rising, but if I had run back to the house to get my camera I would have missed the best part- it was HUGE and orange when it first came up 🙂
    Next time I’ll have to remember to keep my camera with me on our walks 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

