Dewey Dude’s New (recycled/ repurposed) Dog Bed

Standard

My little boy is growing up! LOL.  The bed that fit Dewey Dude when he was just a  little two month old puppy just wasn’t working anymore.  Now he’s a great big 8 month old (and still growing) puppy and it was definitely time for an upgrade to his dog bed.

Dewey smiles

Look at that cute little puppy! I could pick him up with one hand at this age!

morningstar hike me and dewey dude

Now look at The Kid (one of his many nicknames)! I can barely pick him up with both arms- he’s at least 50 pounds!

I thought about buying a new dog bed, but c’mon, this is me we’re talking about here!  I don’t buy anything I can make myself, and I usually make it better than what you find in the stores 😉

Last year we got a new mattress, but of course we still had the old one.  Sal’s like me- he doesn’t throw away anything that he might be able to recycle, reuse, or repurpose.  So we carefully took apart the mattress, which had a really nice pillow top, and the box spring and put everything in storage until we found a use for it.  The box spring will likely become a gate, and I already used some of the padding to re-stuff Ziggi’s dog bed.

ginko

Ginko was helping me work on Ziggi’s bed- he’s a very paws on kind of supervisor 😉

I decided to use the pillow topper from the mattress to create a new Big Boy dog bed for Dewey Dude.  Since he likes to sprawl when he sleeps I knew I’d have to make a pretty big bed.  I cut the well padded pillow topper in half then folded it and sewed the seams.

Of course I had help from Calcifer!  It was a real pain (quite literally!) to sew all this by hand, but it did turn out really nice.  If I were to buy a bed this big and soft it would cost well over $100.  This thing has four thick layers of padding and is very durable.  I covered it with his blankets so he would know it was his, and so I could easily wash the blankets and keep the bed clean.  Dewey Dude certainly approves!

 

Hopefully he won’t outgrow this bed anytime soon!  I’ll make one for Ziggi when my hands heal up from this one.  I managed to shed a little blood on this project 😉  Hey, anything to make my critters happy! 😀

Be sure to check back and see what else I’m working on!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

~Michelle of CreativeCritters
2 thoughts on “Dewey Dude’s New (recycled/ repurposed) Dog Bed

Leave a Reply

