What I feed my puppy

Standard

Today I wanted to share with you what I feed my puppy.  Dewey Dude is a German Shepherd/ Rottweiler mix, so he’s going to be a pretty big dog, and good nutrition at an early age is especially important.  I want my little boy to grow up to be a big healthy dog and have him live a long life free of illness and major health issues.

His big brother Ziggi, a German Shorthair Pointer/ Australian Cattle Dog mix, has been eating essentially the same thing since he was a puppy, and at 6 years old he’s the picture of canine health and vitality!

handsome Ziggi

Both dogs were started on Kirkland Super Premium Puppy food.  Right now Dewey Dude is eating one cup, three times a day.  Breakfast is his biggest meal.  To his puppy food I add one fresh egg (we have 7 chickens so we normally get 7 eggs a day), which provides protein and fatty acids which can improve skin and coat health, as well as vitamin D, calcium, and Choline which assists with healthy bones and teeth.  Eggs also contain iron, Selenium, iodine, vitamin E, zinc, and riboflavin.  Lots of really good stuff in one little egg!

dewey's breakfast

I also add a teaspoon of Diatomaceous earth which helps to prevent and control internal parasites, and can also help to detoxify the body.  It’s supposed to help with digestion as well.  Then I add one teaspoon of apple cider vinegar, which also helps with digestion, along with many other health issues.  I take it daily myself as well.  Then there’s the scoop of yogurt, also to aid digestion and add protein and good bacteria.  Then about a teaspoon of wheat germ, which helps with skin problems, dull, dry hair and to regulate both immune and inflammatory responses in a dog’s body. Then a teaspoon of nutritional yeast, which is a rich source of amino acids and minerals and has high levels of B-complex vitamins.  And finally I add about a teaspoon of ground flax seed, which aids in making his coat softer and shinier, with healthier skin underneath.  In addition to the omega fatty acids, flax seed contains alpha-linoleic acid, which offers benefits to his immune system. Alpha-linoleic acid also has an anti-inflammatory effect, so it can help prevent or control arthritis or other joint problems. Flax seed also contains antioxidants.  I add some water, mix it all up , and create a delicious stew 🙂

dewey eating LOL

Dewey Dude certainly seems to approve!  I add each of these ingredients for very specific purposes.  Both German Shepherds and Rottweilers can have issues with dry skin.  Rottweilers can suffer from digestive issues and have frequent bouts of diarrhea.  My neighbor had a Rotty that was constantly ill- poor thing 😦  And both Rottweilers and Shepherds are large breed dogs that can have joint problems and arthritis.  Dewey Dude did have dry skin at first, but now his skin is nice and healthy and his coat is smooth and shiny.  From everything I can tell he’s a very healthy puppy, physically and emotionally.

My pet’s health is of the utmost importance to me and I want to do all I can to ensure that they live long healthy lives.  That starts with nutrition, but also factors in exercise, environment, mental stimulation, and lots of love ❤

dewey dude and me

~Michelle of CreativeCritters
2 thoughts on “What I feed my puppy

  1. what a little cutie….I also heard wheat germ also helps fight off fleas…YAY bonus…we add olive oil to our border collies breakfast…this has helped keep her dry skin soft and beautiful…she has always had a problem with that….I think I will add wheat germ to hers also…he is going to be a big boy when he is full grown….kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

