Whimsical Frog Pendants from CreativeCritters

Standard

The latest addition to my ArtFire shop are these adorable and whimsical little frog jewelry pendants.

Whimsical Red Frog on Green Blue and Gold Clay Leaf Jewelry Pendant

I became inspired to sculpt these cute little critters after re-reading a few books from Christie Friesen.  I love her fun, free form style.  Although many of my Christie inspired projects bear little resemblance to the original tutorial, her general style can usually be seen in them.

Whimsical Teal Blue and Green Polymer Clay Tree Frog Jewelry Pendant

For these pendants I started out by shaping several leaves from polymer clay.  I swirled together shades of blue, green, and gold then wandered around the house checking out the leaf shapes on the many houseplants we have.  Each leaf was shaped by hand, and each is unique.  They’re not exact replicas of any certain type of leaves, just sort of inspired by the shapes I observed.  I CAN follow precise instructions, but I really enjoy just going with the flow and allowing my work to develop almost by itself.  And I love creating things that make me and my customers smile.

Whimsical Polymer Clay Yellow and Teal Tree Frog Jewelry Pendant And these cute little froggies certainly do that!  Some of them have been embellished with glass beads for a little extra sparkle and color.  That’s another Christie thing- she likes to add a variety of beads, jewelry findings, and other interesting things to her work.  Since I’ve got lots of vintage jewelry, much of it broken or missing stones, I often add bits and pieces to my work as well.  There’s just something about vintage jewelry that is so cool- I’ve got some pretty wild pieces I’ve saved from my Gramma’s collection and from my neighbor, as well as plenty of jewelry I’ve picked up at garage sales.  Nothing goes to waste!  One of the (many) things I love about polymer clay is how easy it is to incorporate a variety of different materials into the final piece.

Whimsical Yellow Green and Gold Tree Frog Leaf Jewelry Pendant I also like using embossing powders to add more color and texture.  I don’t always know just how it will turn out after it’s baked, but that’s part of the fun.  I thought this little frog would be more speckled, but once I baked him the embossing powder formed larger patches of color, which is fine by me.

I’m sure there will be more frogs in my future (I’m thinking about making more plush frogs too), but since I seem to have a touch of craft ADD I’ve since moved on to dragon pendants.  Really, though, you just never know what I’ll create next 😉

If you’d like to learn more about each of the pendants pictured above just click on the picture to be directed to their individual listings in my shop.  Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

~Michelle of CreativeCritters
One thought on “Whimsical Frog Pendants from CreativeCritters

Leave a Reply

