Healthy and Delicious Recipe For Quinoa and Avocado Cookies

Standard

I’m always trying to come up with creative and healthy recipes.  I love cooking and baking, and my boyfriend certainly appreciates my skills in the kitchen 😉  I like to use what I have on hand and create recipes around those ingredients.  So when my sweetie jokingly complained that I hadn’t made any cookies lately (he ate the last one about 3 days ago, poor deprived man- lol) I figured it was time to come up with a new cookie recipe.  I had some leftover quinoa and a couple of avocados that needed to be used, and, strange as those ingredients may sound in a cookie, i knew I could make something yummy, healthy, and satisfying. Mashed avocado can be used to replace butter in baking recipes and quinoa adds a subtle nutty flavor without being overpowering.  These ingredients also add healthy fiber and protein.

So here’s the recipe I came up with:

Healthy Quinoa Avocado Cookies

1 cup cooked quinoa

1/2 cup graham flour

1 cup white flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup mashed avocado

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 cup oats

3/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup muesli

1/2 cup chopped and toasted walnuts

1/2 cup chopped and toasted pecans

Toast the chopped walnuts and pecans in a dry pan over medium heat for about 10 minutes or until they start to smell fragrant.  Be careful not to cook for too long because they can burn quickly.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Place the dry ingredients (white flour, graham flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder) in a bowl and mix with a whisk or fork.  In another bowl cream together the mashed avocado and brown sugar.  Add the vanilla extract and honey, and then beat in the eggs, one at a time, until smooth.  Slowly beat in the flour mixture.  Stir in the quinoa, oats, muesli, cranberries, and nuts.

Whenever making cookies I always cover my cookie sheets with aluminum foil and spray it with cooking spray.  Place heaping spoonfuls of dough onto the prepared cookie sheets and flatten slightly.  Since these cookies don’t have any butter they won’t spread, so you can space them fairly close.  Bake for 14- 16 minutes at 350 degrees.  Allow to cool for a few minutes before removing from the cookie sheet and cooling completely on a wire rack.

I made about 2 dozen large cookies with this recipe, and I can promise you that these cookies were boyfriend approved 😉  These are a great snack when you’re on the go, or in place of a protein bar when you’re out hiking.  They’re not overly sweet (just sweet enough), have lots of protein thanks to the quinoa and nuts, and the perfect amount of fruit and grains with the cranberries, oats, and muesli.  And you really can’t taste the avocado at all.

Image

I have a feeling these won’t last too long!

Thanks for spending a little time getting creative in the kitchen with me 🙂  Be sure to stop back for new and unique (but always tasty!) recipes.  I have many passions in life, and baking just happens to be one of them.

~Michelle of CreativeCritters
Leave a Reply

